What We Know About Love

What we know about love

is that it doesn’t always come calling

when we want or expect.

 

What we know about love

is that when you are crouching

in the bathroom at 2am and know

 

you are going to die, you text your mother.

You text your mother because you’re going to die

and want to tell her you love her.

 

What we know about love is

that it comes to us when we least expect it.

What we know

 

is that love is a battlefield

where our hearts are the hills and ridges,

our minds are the forces

 

that fight over them. And no matter

what guns they bring against us,

what we know is that love

 

will defeat them. What we know

is that what they know who hate

is not worth knowing.

 

We know that love comes thick and fast

and when we least expect to be alive,

we are suddenly and viciously alive

 

even if it is only for a moment and

in that moment we can say

‘I love you’ to whoever

 

we want. Even those who have no

way to text or call will be calling out

the names of loved ones.

 

And when the beloved is called,

they always know to answer.

So I know what you are thinking.

 

What your vicious mind tells you.

I know you, and who you are.

Who you, poisoned, are.

 

And I do not accept you. I will not

lie down and be trampled by your lies.

I will not love like you love.

 

That is to say, not to love.

And though I hate you, I will not

let that hate fester or take hold.

 

I will love if necessary, I will love

if possible, I will love or not at all

be loved or expect love in return.

 

Because what I know about love

is that it lasts. And I will continue to try

love until I am tried in return,

 

until the fires of hate are gone. I will love

because what I know about love

is that all we can know is love.

 

13th June 2016

2 thoughts on “What We Know About Love

Leave a Reply

